skip navigation

UT deal with Nike worth over $1 million

06/27/2017, 12:31am EDT

Terms of 6-year partnership detailed

The University of Toledo football team is popular pick to win the MAC West, but the Rockets have won a conference title since 2004. BLADE

After the University of Toledo athletic department agreed to an exclusive partnership deal with Nike last week, Nike released the terms of the six-year pact Monday.

During the course of the next six years, UT will be entitled to in excess of $1.3 million worth of Nike gear across its 16 varsity sports.

The Rockets football team will be allotted $185,000 in retail value in each of the first three years of the contract, $190,000 in each of the next two years, and $200,000 in the final year.

In addition, Nike has provided a $15,000 allotment of Nike Elite gear to be allocated by head coach Jason Candle as well as a $5,000 allotment for team camps.

Nike also issued performance-based bonuses for the football team. If the Rockets play in a bowl game, they receive 100 pairs of shoes. If they play in the Mid-American Conference title game, they will receive $5,000 in merchandise and if they win the MAC title game, they get $10,000 in merchandise.

Under the new Nike contract, the men’s basketball team will be given a $6,000 allotment for Nike Elite gear (head coach Tod Kowalczyk) as well as $6,000 for the assistant coaches. There also is a $3,000 camp allotment. In addition, the team will receive footwear (quantity of 90), bags (25), warm ups (25), and balls (24).

The women’s basketball team gets $4,000 in Nike Elite gear to be allocated by head coach Tricia Cullop. They also receive footwear (quantity of 40), bags (25), warm ups (25), and balls (12).

The athletic department as a whole will have $25,000 to spend in each of the six seasons covered by the contract as well as $3,000 of Nike Elite allotment to be allocated by UT vice president and athletic director Mike O’Brien.

UT NAMES VARSITY ‘T’ INDUCTEES: The Varsity ‘T’ Hall of Fame announced its 2017 inductees.

Included in the class of 2017 are seven former student-athletes and coaches: Harvey Bowles, wrestling coach (1975-94); Joe Corfman, baseball (2009-12); Jacy Dyer, women’s swimming and diving (2007-11); Chuck Friedman, men’s track and field (1961-64); Amy Galvan, softball (1991-95); DeJuan Goulde, football (1997-2000); and Fabiana Zilberstein Rezak, women’s tennis (1989-93).

The 2017 Varsity ‘T’ Hall of Fame class will be inducted into the Hall of Fame at the induction banquet on Friday, Oct. 20, at the Pinnacle in Maumee. Social hour for the event begins at 6 p.m. and dinner will follow at 7 p.m. 

The class also will be introduced at halftime of the UT football game vs. Akron the next day.

Tickets for the Varsity ‘T’ Hall of Fame induction dinner are $45 or $360 for a table of eight, and can be purchased by calling the Athletic Development Office at 419-530-5087.

The Varsity ‘T’ Hall of Fame also will present the Distinguished Service Award to Joe Fink and Mike Renard. 

Fink is a longtime supporter of UT who has been an active member of the Downtown Coaches Association. Renard is retiring as UT’s equipment manager this month after serving in the position for 34 years.

Bowles was the Rockets’ wrestling coach for 21 years and led the Rockets to a MAC title in 1982-83. During his UT career, Bowles mentored four All-Americans: Myron Shapiro (1975), Brad Smith (1976), Chuck Biggert (1979), and John Potts (1986).

Corfman, a four-year letterwinner, made first-team All-MAC in 2010 and ’12, and first-team all-region in 2010, when he had 61 RBIs, 69 runs, and 20 doubles, all of which rank second on UT’s all-time single-season list.

Dyer was a four-time All-MAC swimmer and 10-time MAC champion in her career and is the only UT women’s swimmer ever to qualify for the NCAA Championship in three different events.

Galvan, a four-year starter at first base, earned first-team All-MAC honors in 1993 and ’94, and made second-team all-league in 1995. She won the MAC batting crown as a sophomore in 1993 with a .418 average, the fourth-highest mark in UT history.

Goulde was a three-time All-MAC defensive lineman, earning first-team honors in 1999 and 2000, and second-team recognition in 1998. 

He ranks third all-time on UT’s career list in tackles for loss (47) and tied for third in sacks (25). 

Friedman won four MAC sprinting titles in his career. In 1963, he won the 220-yard dash and took third in the 100 at the MAC meet. He qualified for the NCAA Championships in the 220, the first UT athlete to make it to the NCAAs.

Zilberstein Rezak was a three-time first-team All-MAC selection (1990-91, 1991-92, 1992-93). As a junior, she finished fourth at the MAC Championships after a 20-10 record at the top singles position.

Contact Brian Buckey at: or 419-724-6110 or on Twitter @BrianBuckey.

Recommended for You

Contests & Promotions

Most Popular

Tag(s): College  Toledo