skip navigation

Toledo Walleye give list of protected players

06/02/2017, 12:27am EDT

10 forwards, nine defensemen, and a goaltender on list

Toledo Walleye player Evan Rankin (86) picks up a loose puck against the Colorado Eagles during the first period of their ECHL hockey playoff game at the Huntington Center on May 13. BLADE PHOTO

The Toledo Walleye have reserved the rights to 20 players from the 2016-17 roster.

The organization placed 10 forwards, nine defensemen, and a goaltender on its protected players list.

The team has the right to sign those players before any other team in the ECHL.

The 10 forwards listed by Toledo are Shane Berschbach, Tylor Spink, Tyson Spink, Alden Hirschfeld, Dane Walters, Kyle Bonis, J.P. LaFontaine, Evan Rankin, A.J. Jenks, and Charlie O’Connor.

The defensemen are Beau Schmitz, Simon Denis, Jordan Hill, Landon Oslanski, Scott Czarnowczan, Justin Agosta, Jacob MacDonald, Jared Nightingale, and Nolan Zajac.

Goaltender Jeff Lerg, who signed with a team in France on Monday, also is listed on the team’s protected list.

ECHL teams are allowed to protect any number of players, provided they meet the guidelines of the league’s collective bargaining agreement.

The Walleye have the first right of refusal to those players on the list.

The ECHL will announce season-ending rosters June 15. Those rosters can include up to 20 players.

Each team is then entitled to reserve rights to a maximum of eight players from the list by extending a qualifying offer no later than July 1. No more than four can be veterans.

Contact Mark Monroe at:, 419-724-6354 or on Twitter @MonroeBlade.

Recommended for You

Contests & Promotions

Most Popular

Tag(s): Pro  Walleye  Mark Monroe