skip navigation

High school notes: 5 to play in state all-star games

04/15/2017, 12:44am EDT

Scott finds new football coach

Bowsher's Dalonte Brown is one of 5 area players selected to take part in the Ohio North-South all-star games. THE BLADE

Five area boys and girls basketball players will take part in the annual Ohio North-South senior basketball all-star games next Friday in suburban Columbus.

Playing for the North team in the Division I-II boys game at Otterbein University in Westerville will be City League player of the year Dalonte Brown of Bowsher, Northern Lakes League player of the year Brett Lauf of Napoleon, and first-team All-Three Rivers Athletic Conference selection Kyle Nunn of Findlay.

That game is set for 6:30 p.m. at Otterbein, and it will be followed by the Division III-IV game at 8 p.m.

Playing for the North team in the Division I-II girls game at Denison University in Granville will be City League co-player of the year Mariah White of Start, and competing in the Division III-IV game will be Northern Buckeye Conference co-player of the year Shannon Weihl of Otsego.

The Division I-II game is set for 6:30 p.m., and the III-IV contest is scheduled at 8 p.m.

Brown, who averaged 22.1 points and 10.1 rebounds during the regular season, led the Rebels to their second consecutive City League championship and to a D-I district runner-up finish. Brown and Nunn (18.9 points, 5.3 rebounds) were each named second-team All-Ohio.

Lauf (25.9 points, 5.7 rebounds, 4.0 assists) was named first-team All-Ohio in Division II.

White (14.5 points), who led the Spartans to a No. 3 ranking in the final D-I state poll, was named second team All-Ohio. Weihl (15.3 points) led Otsego to an NBC championship.

HALL OF FAME: Central Catholic held its 36th athletic hall of fame induction ceremony April 3, honoring six athletes, two other individuals, and two teams.

The athletes inducted were Ellen (Herman) Kimball (Class of 2006, volleyball and basketball); Chad McCarthy (1995, football); Joe Przeniczny (1990, basketball, baseball); Dane Sanzenbacher (2007, football, track); Ronald Wesolowski (1983, football), and Angela (Pasquinelli) Yates (2002, volleyball).

Honored with the citizen award was Jim Schmakel (1969), a longtime equipment manager for the Detroit Tigers, and honored with the coaches award was the late Jim Petiniot, a longtime track and cross country coach who guided the Irish boys to a state team championship in 1997.

Also honored were the 2007 Division II state championship volleyball team and the 1959 baseball team.

SCOTT FOOTBALL COACH: Succeeding Mike Daniels as Scott’s next football coach will be 1986 Scott graduate Mark Weaver, who has 17 years coaching experience.

In a release issued by school athletic director Wakeso Peterson, Weaver said he wanted to “bring back the bite” to the Bulldogs’ program.

After winning a City League championship (8-2 overall, 4-1 CL) in 2014, the Bulldogs slipped to 1-9 in 2015 and were winless at 0-10 last season.

Weaver, who has been the varsity defensive coach and a freshman coach during his time at Scott, wants to maintain disciplinary standards, keep a safe environment, and teach the players accountability, according to the release.

TRACK INVITATIONALS: Two of the bigger annual regular season track and field invitationals in the Toledo area are scheduled for April 28.

The all-boys St. Francis de Sales Knight Relays will include 16 competing teams, and the all-girls Nancy Erme Relays also will have 16 teams.

Last year St. John’s Jesuit won the Knight Relays with 99 points, Whitmer was runner-up at 86, and Central Catholic took third with 77.

In the 2016 Erme Relays, host Whitmer won the Gold meet by edging Notre Dame 131 to 130, and Perrysburg took third at 105. Tiffin Columbian won the Blue meet with 145 points, followed by Springfield (124) and Defiance (103).

Contact Steve Junga at:, or 419-724-6461 or on Twitter @JungaBlade.

Recommended for You

Contests & Promotions

Most Popular

Tag(s): High School  Napoleon  Findlay  Bowsher   Bowsher  Findlay  Napoleon  Otsego  Scott  St. Francis de Sales  Start  Steve Junga