skip navigation

Wauseon is the cream of PIT wrestling field

01/08/2017, 12:49am EST

Indians have a champion, 3 second-place finishes at Perrysburg

Perrysburg’s Josh Herhold takes down Wauseon’s Andrew Bailey during the final seconds of the 160-pound championship match at the Perrysburg Invitational Tournament. Herhold won 4-3. THE BLADE/JEREMY WADSWORTH

Four members of Wauseon’s wrestling team reached the finals of the Perrysburg Invitational Tournament on Saturday evening.

Mauricio Barajas, a 132-pound junior, came away as the lone individual title for the Indians after he scored a 4-0 decision against Central Catholic’s Bryce Quinlan.

But Alex Slattman (120), Andrew Bailey (160) and Tony Banister (195) placing second helped Wauseon run away with the team championship after tallying 193.5 points. The Indians, who wrestled without two starters sidelined, had 189.5 before the championship matches took place.

IN PICTURES: Perrysburg Invitational Tournament

“I’m really proud of these guys today,” Wauseon coach Mike Ritter said. “We had some great matches.

“These guys really rose to the occasion and just stepped up and I couldn’t be more proud.”

Oak Harbor placed second with 178 points, followed by Perrysburg (160), Delta (150), Genoa (149.5), Elmwood (144), Napoleon (105), Springfield (90.5), Defiance (88), Tinora (85), Northview (68), Centerville (65), North Royalton (63), Firelands (62), Maumee (61), Lorain (57), St. John’s Jesuit (57), Central Catholic (52), Otsego (38), Evergreen (37.5), Whitmer (34.5), Bowsher (21), St. Francis de Sales (11.5) and Bryan (10).

“I just stayed focused for my match and to keep good composure because the crowd was really big,” Barajas said of his run to the title and improving to 17-3. “When you get tight, you’ve got to try and keep your mind right and just go out and wrestle.”

The championship matches commenced with the heayweights taking center stage. Tinora’s Derek Smith, who entered the tournament undefeated, kept his record unblemished after pinning Northview’s Marty Hofbauer 53 seconds into the first period. Smith, who improved to 27-0, already had established control of the match with an early takedown of Hofbauer.

“I was just kind of amped wrestling under a spotlight like this,” Smith said. “I knew my opponent and I knew I could beat him.”

Genoa’s 106-pounder Oscar Sanchez worked his way into the finals and came up a champion when he stopped Evergreen’s Jared Fahrer with a 5-1 decision.

At 113, Genoa’s Dylan D’emilio controlled Perrysburg’s Kyle Ryan from the start and took the title with a decisive 11-3 triumph.

Delta’s Cole Mattin and Slattman provided one of the most challenging title matches of the evening. The pair had just two losses between them entering the final.

After Slattman struck first with an early takedown to go up 2-0 in the firs, Mattin remained relentless and eventually worked his way back to a tie with a takedown, eventually going ahead and holding on for a hard-fought 4-2 decision against the previously undefeated Slattman.

Returning state champion Drew Mattin, of Delta and who will wrestle next fall at the University of Michigan, dominated the 126-pound division and finished off the evening with a pin of Defiance’s Danny Assaf. Mattin earned a pin with one second remaining in the first.

“This was definitely on my list because I didn’t get it done last year,” said Drew Mattin, who finished runner-up a year ago at the PIT to Napoleon’s Seth Beard. “I was just excited to compete one last time here.”

Oak Harbor 145-pounder Dylan Mansor came out strong against Genoa’s Adam Bates and established control of the match on his way to a 7-2 decision.

At 152, Oak Harbor’s Jake Huston and Springfield’s Brian Bethel went down to the final seconds before the match was determined. Locked in a 1-1 tie, Huston scored a takedown with three seconds left in the match and held on for a 3-2 decision.

“This is better than last year,” said Huston, who placed fourth a year ago.

Perrysburg’s Moises Guillen drew one of the biggest applauses during the finals after he took care of business against Oak Harbor’s Trevor Scherf in the 138-pound title match. The Yellow Jackets senior, who was a state runner-up a year ago, scored a 15-5 major decision victory to remain undefeated for the season at 22-0.

Yellow Jackets teammate Josh Herhold, who also is a returning state placer, received as much support from the crowd as Guillen after he pulled out a 4-3 decision against Bailey. The Perrysburg senior went into the third period down 3-1.

He quickly cut the lead to 3-2 with an escape and eventually went ahead on a takedown with 10 seconds left in the match.

“This is pretty big because it’s something I’ve been working for basically all my career,” Herhold said. “It’s been on my goal sheet since I was a freshman.”

Napoleon’s Alex Andrews claimed the 170-pound title with a 4-2 decision against Elmwood’s Noah Baker.

Elmwood’s Jace Grossman followed to win the 182-pound title with a 5-2 victory against Delta’s Dylan Rogers.

Elmwood 195-pounder Dylan Hinton also scored a victory after he was declared the winner against Banister, who couldn’t finish the match because of an injury.

At 220, Oak Harbor’s Dylan Thorp controlled the action against Maumee’s Brandon Phillips en route to a 5-2 decision.

Contact Donald Emmons at:, 419-724-6302 or on Twitter @DemmonsBlade.

Recommended for You

Contests & Promotions

Maumee’s Brandon Phillips escapes Oak Harbor’s Dylan Thorp during the 220-pound championship match. Thorp won 5-2. THE BLADE/JEREMY WADSWORTH

Elmwood’s Jace Grossman grabs Delta’s Dylan Rogers during the 182-pound championship match. Grossman won 5-2. THE BLADE/JEREMY WADSWORTH

Most Popular

Tag(s): High School  Tinora  Bowsher  Bryan  Delta  Elmwood  Evergreen  Genoa  Maumee  Napoleon  Oak Harbor  Otsego  Perrysburg  Springfield  St. Francis de Sales  St. John's Jesuit  Sylvania Northview  Wauseon  Whitmer  Donald Emmons